Maryland  |  Construction Law

question bubble
12/17/08, 8:58 am

Legal Question


Contract Law

I live in the state of Maryland. Over 3 years ago today, a subcontractor performed services for me for free in return for referrals. I just received a summons as he is sueing me for the work! We had no signed agreement ever, and the only item attached the summons is a statement of account and a bill. There were no attempts to collect what he is claiming and I feel I do not owe it. I am contesting the debt and would like to know if I should be overly concerned aside from having to appear in court and state this same thing? I have since moved out of the house and had no contact with the contractor, I did pay for housekeeping services about 4 months after he says I refused to pay the original debt, i am securing my bank statements to provie this.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search