Maryland | Construction Law
Legal Question
Contractor did not finish work, we had it finished , and he now wants his money.
We hired a contractor to construct a porch on the house. At the end of March he asked for the balance of $5000 but had not yet put up the gutters or siding or painted the porch. We sent him a letter outlining the work remaining and would pay upon completion of the work. We did not hear from him. 2 weeks ago we had the work completed. Today we have a letter from the contractor asking for the money or he would take us to court. What should we do?
Legal Answer
Re: Contractor did not finish work, we had it finished , and he now wants his money.
The contractor is entitled to payment for the work he completed. He is not, however, entitled to payment for the work he didn't complete. I'd offer to settle for payment for work done.
Bar Adon Vogel PLLC 1642 R Street, NW Washington, Dc, DC 20009
► Other answers from this attorney
Legal Answer
Re: Contractor did not finish work, we had it finished , and he now wants his money.
You apparently have a contract. Your question revolves around what that contract is. Any written contract will prevail with enforcement if properly accepted by the parties.
The date of the letter that you refer to may have significance as well as other matters. Contact an attorney to discuss.
Law Offices of G. Joseph Holthaus 2255 Daniels Road Ellicott City, MD 21043
► Other answers from this attorney

