Maryland  |  Construction Law

question bubble
4/26/07, 6:47 pm

Legal Question


What is the statute of limitations on a faulty home inspection

I bought my home in 2003. At the time of purchase the home had 3 layers of shingles on the roof. It has now come to light that there was significant rot to the underlying plywood and the entire roof has to be replaced. Can I pursue damages from either the home inspector who didn't address this code violation or the previous homeowners who failed to disclose this on the state required disclosure form? The repairs will excede $10,000.


question bubble
4/27/07, 11:56 pm

Legal Answer


Re: What is the statute of limitations on a faulty home inspection

The statute of limitation is three years upon your discovery of a legal action. You purchased to proprery as it was at the time of purchase. If you wanted assurance for further service from the roof a warranty should have been purchased. The three layers of roofing material should have been noted to you during the inspection or otherwise have become known within three years of today. Your question asks only about the statute of limitation.

G. Joseph Holthaus III

Law Offices of G. Joseph Holthaus 2255 Daniels Road Ellicott City, MD 21043

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search