Maryland | Construction Law
Legal Question
Sub-contractor threatens to put lien on property
I am in a bind and need your help to find some information. I had contracted a company to build the sun room. He had his sub--contractor pour concrete for the basement wall. It's about two weeks now. The sub-contractor (with whom I don't any direct contract with) is now threatening me saying that if the contractor does not pay them, they are going put lien on the property. Is this legal? Can they do this? Shed some light to this issue please! Please let me know. Thanks.


