Maryland | Consumer Law
Legal Question
Automobile Flaws In A Specific Make and Model
I currently have the BBB investigating a claim on my 2004 Kia Optima, which has multiple problems five diagnosed by the dealership, under the Maryland Lemon Law. In addition to my difficulties with this car, my wife purchased a 2004 Kia Optima a couple months after I did without the same problems, but as we hit 5,000 miles this week one of the noises (a high-pitched squeal when accelerating, which they said was the drive belts on my other car) occurred twice. The dealership that sold us both vehicles also violated the spot delivery law with my wife's car. We have all the documentation on my lemon law claim with service appointments. We have never been given a rental car and lied to on several occasions by the service dealership, which was only prompted by the BBB. It seems to me aside from the lemon car, there may be a fundamental flaw with these vehicles. Anyway, it seems as though we should be able to do something since this is a large manufacturer. My wife and I work over 40+ hours per week, have rearranged our schedules, have had five service appointments on the lemon, and we can't afford to go broke with attorney fees or waste more of time we don't have on these vehicles. I appeciate any feedback on this matter. -Ryan


