Maryland | Consumer Law
Legal Question
Breach of of contract on EBAY
I set up an EBAY account for my friend to sell a car.
I then posted an auction add for my friend to sell the car on EBAY. During the auction, I answered email questions about the car for him. I was basically an intermediary between my friend and the bidders. My friend paid me $100 for my work. At the end of the auction my friend told my he had sold the car to a private buyer. My friend told me to email the winning bidder that we couldn't sell him the car because it was sold privately, outside the auction. I did so, and the bidder sent an email back saying that he would do anything legally necessary to get the car. I wanted to know if the buyer can come after me or only my friend. Also, what should we do now?


