Maryland  |  Consumer Law

question bubble
8/03/07, 8:05 pm

Legal Question


consumer home improvement

we purchased 2 doors and 2 windows - replacement from a remodeling store. We had a door replaced once before and it went smoothly. Here it is 15 yrs later and they want to replace your entire door frame and into the inside molding, prying loose to place the vinyl under and tamping down. Our house was built in 1930 and the woodwork is original - we left a deposit and they came out and measurered - that is when I found out about prying loose the woodwork to fit the vinyl under and then tamping it down. One week later, we get a fax about needing 2 transom windows for the 2 doors - we did not request that and saw no need for them - an additional amount of money. I called and told the company how upset I was about the way they were going to manhandle my woodwork - when my last replacement door was put in - they did not have to do that. I also told them we did not want the transom windows - at one point my husband said we wanted to cancel the doors - we were told we could not do that and we would loose the money, deposit and possibly be sued for the rest. All we wanted was 2 replacement windows and doors. Is there any recourse??? I do not want the woodwork pried loose nor the transom windows


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search