Maryland  |  Consumer Law

question bubble
6/26/07, 6:38 am

Legal Question


Contrator started work without contract: we were'nt home

A month ago, I talked to a painting contractor about how if they got the job they'd start yesterday, our last day out of the country on vacation. I told him at that time that we'd like to hire them but needed a proposal and everything in writing; plus, we'd need a quote for the required wood repair.

On May 31, he gave us a print-out of a project plan and a sheet of paper titled Proposal with a dollar amount and a signature block. We told him we still needed the wood quote.

We never signed anything, got a summary of work, written guarantee, or wood quote.

The sales guy made several statements that turned out not to be true (20-year-job guarantee--not just paint; they hire employees only, no contractors; we could get 12-month-no-interest financing for the job through his parent company), so we kept looking.

They showed up yesterday & worked on my house for 5 hours. When I learned they were there, I had a neighbor ask them to leave.

They walked on my slate roof and did a bit of collateral damage to the beam on my back porch where the ceiling boards were ripped out.

When they left, they left a board holding up the end of the porch.

What should we do?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search