Maryland  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
10/29/06, 2:31 pm

Legal Question


can they ( collections)only sue for what they have paid?

Hi

I had a debt with MBNA years ago (10,000). A collection agency bought it for pennies on the dollar. Now after 4 years they are suing me. In most states one can only sue for what they actually lost. In this case they have lost nothing, as they are not creditors, they do not extend credit, and you never did business with them. The maximum that can be sued for is the amount they actually paid for the ''debt'', if that.

What is the Maryland law in regards to this?

I would like to set an appointment after getting my responce.

Thanks


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search