Maryland  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
2/28/05, 7:24 pm

Legal Question


Company failure to correctly process credit card charge

Several years after paying a moving company (on delivery day) their final payment as agreed, the moving company says they failed to process the charge and I owe the money. They state that it was their mistake. Unfortunately, I no longer have any of the files (including payment information) from the move since it was five years ago, so I don't know if they are correct. It was a very expensive and complicated move and there were several contracts and several payments. Without any of the data, I am reluctant to pay again for something I specifically paid for the first time. Am I liable for this? Apparently they sold the ''debt'' to a collection agency and the agency says they ''collect'' on these types of situations. Please advise


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search