Maryland  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
11/10/01, 10:33 pm

Legal Question


If you are disabled are you entitled to have debts relieved?

My husband becamed disabled this year. He was forced to retire and has now half his salary. We have substantial debt and are in danger of losing everything. I was able to remove two loans by giving the creditors the physician's disability declarement. We have mortgage and life insurance. I was under the impression by the disabilities act that disability was deemed by the insurance companies to recieve payment or debt. The mortgage companies, seems somewhat confused and said the mortgage ins. didn't cover disability. As many creditor's relieve debt under this act, does mortgage and car insurance do the same. Under the disability act, it seems that if other debts are relived then the life and mortgage should be rendered a disability clause or relief. Is this the law?

Thank you so much


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search