Maryland  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
3/21/05, 3:17 pm

Legal Question


How to dispute debt to collection agency

Received notice from a debt collector that I owe money for unpaid rent. This is the first notice I received from the creditor - I had no idea that I had not fulfilled my obligations with the landlord (I left on good terms with them almost 2 years ago after agreeing to pay a fee for early termination of the lease which was paid in full). I requested a verification of debt from the creditor. The creditor informed me no judgement had been passed on the debt. I am very concerned about my credit rating being affected by this (I have outstanding credit). Is it worth fighting / waiting for a judgement (is this an automatic proceeding?) or should I just pay the amount?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search