Maryland | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
Can My Father Sue Me for Help Rendered Without Agreement for Repayment?
I'm a recent college graduate with a manipulative father. He has recently threatened that if I move out and take on debt, he will send me ''a bill for everything I've ever done for you/given you.''
My father helped pay my college tuition. This was done without a verbal or written agreement for repayment of any kind. I accepted his help, but I did not solicit it from him.
Like all fathers, he has passed property onto me in the form of birthday gifts, hand-me-downs, etc.
He is currently allowing me (forcing me, rather) to stay at home and accrue additional savings before moving out. While here, he is paying my cell phone bill and insurance bill (I am currently on his policy, using his vehicle), again without written or verbal agreement for repayment of any kind.
If he were to try to quantify this aid and attempt to sue me for such and such amount, would his case hold water?
As you can tell, I'm trying to get my feet under me and would not be able to afford a protracted legal battle. If he were to press his case, would I be likely to win in a hearing?


