Maryland | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
Laws concerning promisorry notes...
i signed a promissory note for the sum of $20,000 as a loan for my business from a friend.Since then the company failed an i am unable to pay back what i borrowed.it is already past due.he is now saying he is taking me to court for it and that hes claiming it as theft(saying i scammed him) and that he is filing criminal charges because its over $500. can this happen even if i dont have any money to repay him right now? will i have criminal charges brought against me?he wont reason with me hes just taking me to court. i want to pay it back i just dont have it or anyone to borrow from. what is the best thing to do in this situation i am hopeless here.


