Maryland | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
I Want To Pay My Student Loans, But......
In 1993 I graduated from college. I accumulated $27,000 in student loans. I am an AutoBody Tech. Business fluctuates and I have paid as well as I could. At one point I had it down to $18,000. Due to reasons of unemployment, under employment and health issues My payments over the last few years have been sparadic. Because of late fees and interest rates at this point in time my debt now totals over $30,000 dollars. I want to pay off my loans and want this monkey off of my back, but the extra charges are killing me. I don't want to claim bankruptcy. Is there any way to get this loan back down to principal only, minus the late fees and interest so I can have a fighting chance at paying it off.


