Maryland | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
satisfy judgment
Can credit cards be frozen to satisfy a judgment? What about a prepaid debit card?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Lawrence Holzman |
Re: satisfy judgment If someone is attempting to collect on a judgment they can attach "assets" of the debtor. That would include a pre-paid debit card, because that is an asset that has value. So, someone could claim the card and/or the value attached to it in order to satisfy the judgment.
A creditor cannot "attach" or "freeze" a credit card or other line of credit. In other words a creditor cannot force a debtor to use a line of credit or credit car to pay off the judgment. Otherwise, that would essentially mean that the judgment debtor was just forcing some other creditor to pay the judgment (because of course the debtor would likely not pay the second debt either). That would not make sense.
|
Top Attorneys in MD
Chung & Press, P.C.
Mclean, VA
Questions Answered: 2361
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Law Offices of G. Joseph Holthaus
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Attorney at Law
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Paula McGill Attorney at Law
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 577
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Arden Law Firm
Crownsville, MD
Questions Answered: 428
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A.
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Alan S. Albin, Attorney at Law
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Law Office of Joseph Laumann, PA
Annapolis, MD
Questions Answered: 124
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-06-11
Chung & Press, P.C.
Cumberland, MD
Questions Answered: 103
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-05
Dunlap, Grubb & Weaver, PLLC
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Search Questions and Answers


