Maryland | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
No Submission Address Given to Send Intention to Defend
I have accrued substantial credit card debt and am now being served with a Writ of Summons. On the writ, it states that I must complete and file the Intention to Defend if I plan on being in court. I have searched the writ multiple times in order to see where I am supposed to ''file'' this intention, but there is no address and no phone number listed other than the sueing party's name and number along with a statement that I can settle with them and possibly ''avoid the necessity of you appearing in court.''
First, since the server is obtained by the sueing party to serve the papers, do they create the copy of the writ? Could they have intentionally left off the information as to where to file the intention? Second, where do I submit the intention? Certainly I do not file it with the law firm sueing me. In researching on-line it seems that I would file with the court...why would the court send out a document that is required to be filed and not include any information as to how to actually file as they state is required?
Any advice/assistance you can give would be greatly appreciated.


