Maryland | Criminal Law
Legal Question
I am 16 years old. I was charged with first degree burglary. How much time might I receive?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: William Welch |
That depends on whether your case is heard by a juvenile court or a criminal court. Technically, juveniles are not sentenced to a term of punishment. Instead the court orders a behavioral treatment program, which may involve commitment to a juvenile facility, if the child is uncooperative, or his parents unable to control him.
Whether the case proceeds in juvenile or criminal court depends on which court has original jurisdiction, whether a juvenile court waives its jurisdiction to the criminal court, or whether the criminal court transfers jurisdiction to juvenile court.
Either your parents should hire a lawyer for you, or qualify to get one appointed by the public defender. Do so immediately. |
Top Attorneys in MD
Law Offices of G. Joseph Holthaus
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Law Office of Jason Cleckner, LLC
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 859
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-20
William L. Welch, III Attorney
Baltimore, MD
Questions Answered: 818
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Steven J. Scheinin, Lawyer
Towson, MD
Questions Answered: 594
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Law Office of William C. Wood, LLC
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 403
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-25
Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A.
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Alan S. Albin, Attorney at Law
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Uptown Law, LLC
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 124
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-05-15
Law Office of Joseph Laumann, PA
Annapolis, MD
Questions Answered: 124
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-06-11
Burton J. Haynes, P.C.
Burke, VA
Questions Answered: 107
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-01
Search Questions and Answers


