Maryland | Criminal Law
Legal Question
Domestic Violence / Second Degree Assault
Can you explain '' spousal privilage'' to my wife. How it is done... What it means... and the once per lifetime rule.
Thank you
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Joseph Laumann |
Re: Domestic Violence / Second Degree Assault In cases where the state is looking to have a spouse testify against the other spouse, the testifying spouse may invoke spousal privilege or immunity. This means that they will not have to testify against the spouse. Of course they must be married in order to invoke said privilege. This can only be invoked once and basically makes the state's case a dud if there is no other evidence that can be presented. |
Top Attorneys in MD
Law Offices of G. Joseph Holthaus
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Law Office of Jason Cleckner, LLC
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 859
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-20
William L. Welch, III Attorney
Baltimore, MD
Questions Answered: 818
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Steven J. Scheinin, Lawyer
Towson, MD
Questions Answered: 594
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Law Office of William C. Wood, LLC
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 403
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-25
Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A.
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Alan S. Albin, Attorney at Law
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Uptown Law, LLC
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 124
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-05-15
Law Office of Joseph Laumann, PA
Annapolis, MD
Questions Answered: 124
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-06-11
Burton J. Haynes, P.C.
Burke, VA
Questions Answered: 107
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-01
Search Questions and Answers


