Maryland  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
11/16/09, 4:28 pm

Legal Question


what would i be facing with a theft under $500.00 charge in state of maryland


Advice Based on Experience from Someone Whom You Can Trust

Mr. Welch has been an attorney since 1993, and he concentrates in criminal defense. He has represented juveniles and adults, whose cases have involved felonies and misdemeanors. Charges have included serious traffic (dui and license offenses), narcotics, assault, conspiracy, and murder. Mr. Welch offers an initial consultation that is confidential and free of charge.

For more information visit http://wwelchattorney.com


question bubble
11/22/09, 3:47 am

Legal Answer


The maximum penalty for theft over $500.00 is 15 years in jail. Surely you would not even think of going to court on these charges without a lawyer?

Steven Scheinin

Steven J. Scheinin, Lawyer
305 W. Chesapeake Avenue
Towson, MD 21204

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/22/09, 8:48 am

Legal Answer


What the ultimate outcome would be depends on many factors, including whether you have any viable defenses, whether you have a criminal record, whether restitution has been made, etc. You should consult with an experienced criminal defense attorney as soon as possible.

Bill Wood

Law Office of William C. Wood, LLC
8289 Main Street, Suite 204
Ellicott City, MD 21043

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/22/09, 10:08 am

Legal Answer


The maximum penalty for theft under $500.00 is eighteen months incarceration and a fine. If convicted, your sentence will depend on the nature of the victim, whether you have made restitution, what the state requests, your prior criminal record, what you present, and who the judge is. A lawyer can help you assess all of these factors and help you seek the best result for you.

William Welch

William L. Welch, III Attorney
111 South Calvert Street, Suite 2700
Baltimore, MD 21202

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search