Maryland | Criminal Law
Legal Question
I live in Maryland and my question is regarding shoplifting. Earlier today I attempted to walk out of Target with a vacuum cleaner in my cart which I had not purchased, but as I was about to walk out of the store I was stopped and asked for a receipt. I handed the cart over to the Target employee and said, "nevermind" and left. This moment was a "wake-up call" to never try this again, but I am now worried about the possibility of further trouble because of this. I was not detained as I started to walk away after handing the cart over and they did not get any of my information, but I did make a purchase with my debit card upon entering the store about an hour earlier. If they somehow find that transaction, would they be able to find me using information from that transaction and file charges against me for the vacuum cleaner? The cost of the vacuum cleaner was $549 which I've just learned counts as a felony. I'm completely worried and do not know what to do at this point.
Advice Based on Experience from Someone Whom You Can Trust
Mr. Welch has been an attorney since 1993, and he concentrates in criminal defense. He has represented juveniles and adults, whose cases have involved felonies and misdemeanors. Charges have included serious traffic (dui and license offenses), narcotics, assault, conspiracy, and murder. Mr. Welch offers an initial consultation that is confidential and free of charge.
Legal Answer
Your card would probably have your name and address on it. Target could make a complaint, and the state can decide whether to prosecute.
William L. Welch, III Attorney
111 South Calvert Street, Suite 2700
Baltimore, MD 21202
Top Areas of Law


