Maryland  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
11/03/04, 4:41 pm

Legal Question


shoplifting conviction

Hi dear Sir or Madam,

A problem has occured for a friend of min and I wanted to consult with you about it. A few days ago, she went to a store to shop and she made a huge mistake,,,

She had put 5 or 6 earings in her bag withought paying for them ! I think they were worth about 500 dollars,

That was the first time in her life that she was doing such thing and she has no previous record of any criminal act ...She was in Maryland area,,, They took her to jail for two days! then they set her free with 1000 dollars bail. They also had kept her passport ...

They gave her a court date for a few weeks from now, Now, she is very frightened and she needs my help.

Now, My questions are :

does she need to hire a lawyer for her case or the court lawyer would be good enough ?

Is this a very serious case? What do you think they would do to her ?

what do you thikn she should do since she is very very worried !

Would it be apossibility for them to put her in jail for that ?

Please help us,,,

Thanks so much


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search