Maryland  |  DUI Law

question bubble
1/17/05, 5:59 pm

Legal Question


V.O.P. - Restriction given: 1-12 Step Meeting Per Day

I had my 1st DWI and was given PBJ with these restrictions:

Continue Outpatient Drug/Alcohol program (13 weeks)

Shock Trauma DWI class

24 months probation

no alcohol in system for 24 months

I violated my probation by having alcohol in my system, no moving violations and no other criminal charges.

At my V.O.P. hearing I was given these restrictions until next hearing:

Remain drug/alcohol free

Interlock device on any vehicle operated

Continued Probation

Seek inpatient treatment

1-12 step meeting per day

I have attended these 12-step meetings everyday since. At these meetings, the 12 steps involve ''to believe that a Power greater than ourselves'' and make numerous references to ''God''.

Does the court have the authority to order someone to attend a “religious” meeting of this sort? I could understand them making someone get treatment, but to attend these meetings which have a “religious” tone seems to go against “Freedom of Religion”


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search