Maryland  |  Family Law

question bubble
4/02/00, 7:46 pm

Legal Question


Changing Custody papers

I have Joint Custody of my son (for 5 years now) and he has stayed primarily with his mother. She called me up out of the blue and asked me to take him the rest of the school year, she said she would give him to her parents if I did not take him. His mother led me to believe he was excelling in everything. When I enrolled him in school the school informed me he was behind in learning and that his record from his previous school was not too good. The school said he had an excessive number of absences and tardys ALL UNEXCUSED. It took us 2 months to get him on a "normal kidlike" schedule. He has had some emotional/anger problems too. We have worked and worked on helping him and we do EVERYTHING together. My wife and I barely have a few minutes a day for each other. But we both agree he is worth it. He is doing a thousand times better now than we have ever seen him. But, his mother wants him back now, we very much believe he must remain here permanently. The Divorce/Custody papers are in a third state too. Do I need to release the custody paperwork from the state it was made in to this one? or do I need to goto that state to try to change the Custody agreement? Or ???

Thanks,


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search