Maryland  |  Family Law

question bubble
8/17/00, 8:13 am

Legal Question


Child Custody

My wife and I have been separated and living apart since May of 1998. We drew up our own separation papers and worked out visitation arrangements for our 5 yr old daughter. Since that time, she has moved numerous times from out of state to interstate moves without warning or providing very little. Since this isn't specified in our papers that she can't...she can do whatever. My attorney recently advised that since our paper work isn't filed within the state of MD. that we're both entitled to the same parental rights. I have my daughter for the remainder of the summer and my attorney advised not to give her back. I went to the district court to get help filing for emergency custody or just plain temporary custody for that matter. Social services could not help me and I can't file an expartee order either. I am concerned for my daughters welfare and well being based on her mother's job instability, moving from state to state and boyfriend to boyfriends house with my daughter in tow! I am supposed to return my daughter to her mother next week. Fore my daughter's sake...I can't. What is a father to do?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search