Maryland | Family Law
Legal Question
Child Paternity
While married, I had an affair on my husband. That was five years ago. He decided to raise the child as his and give him his last name, his family also accepted him and even showed me pictures to convince me that he was all over my husbands. We have now been divorced three years and he has not seen his son for two years, even his family does not have any contact with me or my son. Now he has a new family and is getting married and all of a sudden his family wants him to get a paternity test so he won't be paying for a child that might not be his. Now after all this time of them convincing me that he was my husbands, all of a sudden they want to have contact if he should turn out to be his. Do I have to give him visitation rights if it should turn out that way or can I tell them to leagally leave me alone as they have chose to do so all this time?


