Maryland | Family Law
7/14/10, 12:11 pm
Legal Question
What is the differnce in Divorce Aboslute and Divorce Limited??
What is the differnce in Divorce Aboslute and Divorce Limited??
|
Read More Answered By: Bill Wood |
An Absolute Divorce is the final dissolution of the marriage. A Limited Divorce is essentially a legal separation. The parties are still married, but are typically living apart. |
|
Read More Answered By: G. Joseph Holthaus III |
An absolute divorce is a final divorce and is what most people refer to as "being divorced." A limited divorce is from "bed and board" meaning that you are not truly divorced as is commonly understood.
A limited divorce is applicable in instances involving children, temporary alimony, or for other reasons. You should discuss your case with an attorney to determine whether a limited divorce applies. Most people do not pursue a limited divorce because of the added cost, but again there are benefits that may justify this course of action.
Lastly, there is no such status in Maryland law as a legal separation. Even after separation with an agreement, you are still married until the Court grants an absolute divorce. |
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 3886
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Towson, MD
Questions Answered: 594
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 577
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Cumberland, MD
Questions Answered: 468
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-06-08
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 403
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-25
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 156
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-05-27
► What rights does a 14 yr old have if she has been put out of the house by her mom...
► My husband has had an affair with another women for over 2 years. I didn't file a...
► My daughter wants me to homeschool my grandson, but in the state of MD, you can only...
► I am scheduled to appear next week for deposition for discovery regarding a divorce...
► My child is now 15 years old and custody was taken away from me after i moved to MD....
► I want to file for divorce. we have several properties and are in the process of...
► My ex is currently incarcerated and has asked to suspend child support effective the...
More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Maryland| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press