Maryland | Family Law
Legal Question
divorce
my husband and I have not been living together for 13 years, but are not legally seperated. am I responsible for his medical bills when he dies?
divorce
my husband and I have not been living together for 13 years, but are not legally seperated. am I responsible for his medical bills when he dies?
|
Read More Answered By: LAUREL ANCHORS |
Re: divorce Maryland does not have a "legal separation". If you are separated and have lived by an understanding regarding the terms of the separation, that is legally binding between the two of you. Unless you have signed as a responsible party for your husband's medical providers, you are not responsible for his medical bills, either now or if he dies. However, HE is responsible for the bills. Therefore, his estate (assets left after he dies) can be attached for the medical and other bills. Thus, you would inherit your share of his estate after the bills are paid (medical and other bills proven to be owing). |
|
Read More Answered By: LAUREL ANCHORS |
Re: divorce Maryland does not have a "legal separation". If you are separated and have lived by an understanding regarding the terms of the separation, that is legally binding between the two of you. Unless you have signed as a responsible party for your husband's medical providers, you are not responsible for his medical bills, either now or if he dies. However, HE is responsible for the bills. Therefore, his estate (assets left after he dies) can be attached for the medical and other bills. Thus, you would inherit your share of his estate after the bills are paid (medical and other bills proven to be owing). |
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 3886
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Towson, MD
Questions Answered: 594
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 577
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Cumberland, MD
Questions Answered: 468
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-06-08
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 403
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-25
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 156
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-05-27
► Common law marriage I live where common law marriage is recognized. Some years ago I...
► Unfaithful husband by looking on my husband cell phone,I discoverd that he cheated...
► Prenup If I use the LAWGURU prenup forms, should I have them reviewed by a lawyer?
► Law student lies in divorce court A law student, who has since passed the DC bar and...
► Legal separation I am asking my husband, who is an acoholic and uses drugs, to leave...
► Custody if a husband and his mistress died in a car accident leaving behind a...
► Custody modification My 7 year old son found a wallet containing $800 in it at a...
More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Maryland| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press