Maryland  |  Family Law

question bubble
4/16/07, 12:48 am

Legal Question


Guidelines for childsupport if father had another child

What are the guidelines with child support in MD if the father of my 2 children has recently had another child. He is currently with the mother though they have been on and off again. Will the child support be a higher amount if they are together and he is not paying her child support.. or do they just take this child into consideration regardless? He has paid child support periodically though there is no court order. Also, my ex keeps saying he shouldn't have to pay me so much ( I ask for $100wk.. though i only get $100mth) because my boyfriend makes alot of money. Me and my boyfriend do not have any children together.. so i would think he is not responsible for them and his income should not be considered. I thought that I read somewhere that the child support would equal 25% of his net pay... is this true, or does it change because he has another child? What actions will be taken if I get a court order and he does not pay.. do they automatically garnish his pay or is that only if a large sum of child support is owed? Thank you for your help, I cannot afford a lawyer at this time.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search