Maryland  |  Family Law

question bubble
11/15/09, 3:02 pm

Legal Question


I am living with my boyfriend now for almost 7 years. Recently, he has decided not to get married. In the time living together, I have contributed to all of the lving expenses to run our home. He was also able to purchase rental property because of me paying the bills, but obly put house in his name .I was wondering if I could recoup some monies spent under the assumption of a future marriage if we break up?


question bubble
11/20/09, 3:17 pm

Legal Answer


I'm not aware of any legal basis for asserting such a claim. Unfortunately, the protections that would be afforded to you if you were married are not available to couple who remain single.

Bill Wood

Law Office of William C. Wood, LLC 8289 Main Street, Suite 204 Ellicott City, MD 21043

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search