Maryland | Family Law
Legal Question
In Maryland, if a person cheats on his or her spouse with person "X," can person "X" get any punishment whatsoever, or does just the cheating spouse get punishment?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Robert Sher |
Practically speaking, neither party gets "punishment", at least in the sense of it being treated as a criminal act, even though technically it is a minor violation of the criminal code. Also, you can't sue someone for alienation of affections. However, it is obviously considered an act of adultery and as such could be a ground for filing for divorce. Also, if the act was a cause for breaking up the marriage, then a judge who in a divorce proceeding is tasked to divide up marital property or award alimony, it can be taken into account in making that decision. |
Top Attorneys in MD
Wagshal and Sher
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 3886
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Offices of G. Joseph Holthaus
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Attorney at Law
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Steven J. Scheinin, Lawyer
Towson, MD
Questions Answered: 594
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Paula McGill Attorney at Law
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 577
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Chung & Press. P.C.
Cumberland, MD
Questions Answered: 468
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-06-08
Law Office of William C. Wood, LLC
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 403
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-25
Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A.
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Alan S. Albin, Attorney at Law
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Law Office of Thomas K. Brown, LLC
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 156
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-05-27
Search Questions and Answers


