Maryland  |  Family Law

question bubble
11/12/09, 3:37 pm

Legal Question


Once a Master has submitted recommendations and an exceptions hearing has taken place with a Judge, what deadlines or timeframes does the Judge have to decide on the Exceptions? I'm told the case is "pending" but it is now 2 months since the exceptions hearing.


question bubble
11/17/09, 3:48 pm

Legal Answer


There is no specific deadline for the judge in these situations. He or she may be tied up in trials or have a backlog of matters to resolve. Some judges work more efficiently than others. You will just have to be patient.

Robert Sher

Wagshal and Sher 4824 Edgemoor Lane Bethesda, MD 20814

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/17/09, 3:49 pm

Legal Answer


There are no hard and fast deadlines. I would suggest calling the clerk's office, the family law case coordinator, and/or the judge's chambers to get an update. It's possible that the judge has ruled, but the file has not been routed to where it needs to go.

Bill Wood

Law Office of William C. Wood, LLC 8289 Main Street, Suite 204 Ellicott City, MD 21043

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search