Maryland  |  Family Law

question bubble
3/15/98, 8:59 pm

Legal Question


What are the rights of the children when parent is remarried?

My mother died from brain cancer. As her children from her first marrige, we urged her to do a will. She did not do one, and gradually her health declined, along with her mental capabilities, that by the time we obtained a lawyer nothing could be done. Her second husband stated that they have no assets to dispose of. My mother kept all our childhood belongings; clothes, dolls, pictures of us through out our school years, silver trinkets, jewelery. She commented verbally several times that whatever she owned in terms of her jewelery and furniture she bought should go to her daughters. The lawyer we obtained told us technically we have no rights to those belongings since she did not have a will, and they were in her possession at the time of her death. I can't imagine why her second husband would want my barbie dolls that were given to me by my father but what I understood since those items were in my my mother's possession, Maryland law states that it is her husband's property since there was no will. I would like to know what is the law code or reference that I may look up?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search