Maryland | Family Law
Legal Question
Separation
How do I go about getting a separation from my husband?
Legal Answers
|
Read More Answered By: Lowell Wilson |
Re: Separation The answer is, of course, "it depends." A lot of people think that there has to be a hearing in court to get a legal separation, but if the two of you have already agreed to live separate and apart, all that you need to do is formalize that agreement with a writing. In other words, one or both of you hire a lawyer and have one of the lawyers draw up an agreement that states your wishes (who gets the kids, what the visitation rights are, what child support will be paid, alimony, who gets the house, the 401(K), and whatever else you will split when the divorce is final). If the two of you agree to all of this, then you sign it and, after the appropriate amount of time (usually a year, but depending on the grounds it can be sooner or later than that) one of you goes to court and gets the divorce.
As I said, whether things will be that simple all depends. Is there adultery being alleged? Does one of you want out but the other does not? All of these things will impace the procedure you use...
Lowell
-------------- Lowell Wilson 8335 Court Ave. Ellicott City, MD 21043 410-461-8465 |
|
Read More Answered By: G. Joseph Holthaus III |
Re: Separation There is more than one option each having respective benefits and costs.
Pursuing a separation agreement is often a preferred method. Many of the matters between you and your estranged spouse can be resolved this way. You will still need to file for divorce but having a separation agreement will provide predictability to the outcome as well as simplify the process.
My fees are reasonable. Contact me today. |
Top Attorneys in MD
Wagshal and Sher
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 3886
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Offices of G. Joseph Holthaus
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Attorney at Law
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Steven J. Scheinin, Lawyer
Towson, MD
Questions Answered: 594
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Paula McGill Attorney at Law
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 577
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Chung & Press. P.C.
Cumberland, MD
Questions Answered: 468
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-06-08
Law Office of William C. Wood, LLC
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 403
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-25
Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A.
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Alan S. Albin, Attorney at Law
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Law Office of Thomas K. Brown, LLC
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 156
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-05-27
Search Questions and Answers


