Maryland  |  Family Law

question bubble
11/12/09, 7:35 am

Legal Question


I seperated from my hsuband on 12-19-08. I want to file for an absolute uncontested divorce. Do I have to wait the 1 yr and 1 day to file the petition? Or can I file prior to that date? Also, I have moved from the county in which we lived together. Can I still file for divorce in that county, which is the county in which we were married. I expect my maiden name returned and my husband and step daughter to be removed from my health insurance. There are no assets, property, children, or joint anything to divide. Please help! Thank you.


question bubble
11/17/09, 9:28 am

Legal Answer


Unless you have fault grounds for absolute divorce, such as adultery, you must wait the year to file the complaint for absolute divorce on grounds of mutual and voluntary separation for one year. Regarding where to file, the case may be filed where you reside or where your husband resides or works.

Bill Wood

Law Office of William C. Wood, LLC 8289 Main Street, Suite 204 Ellicott City, MD 21043

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search