Maryland | Family Law
Legal Question
Sticky Situation concerning gifts, child, end of relationship
My husband is being sued by an ex-girlfriend in small claims court for money she claims he owes her. He never borrowed money from her but he did receive items from her and made calls on a cell phone which she bought for him (he currently still has the phone in possession). She is basically a jilted lover who is trying to get back at someone for hurting her. She claims she wants nothing to do with him but yet has gone to great lengths to contact me, sending me things at work, having her friend contact me and even showing up at my job. She also claims she is pregnant with his child, conceived shortly before our wedding. He denies that this could be possible, having ended the relationship months before the wedding. 1) Does she have a case for her small claims suit (she probably has receipts and copies of her cell phone bill); 2) What are our options if she tries to sue him for child support and 3) Do I have any recourse for the harassment she is doing by contacting me?


