Legal Question in Family Law in Maryland

I know a women who may one day need to file for disability if her leukemia gets worse. She is a single mother, and she *does not* wish for the father to pay child support. Is it possible for her to get disability over leukemia while still choosing not to pursue child support from the biological father?

Asked on 8/29/13, 4:11 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Robert Sher Wagshal and Sher
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

SSI benefits have nothing to do with child support. However, if she were to receive aid for the children from MD, she would be required to cooperate with them as they go after the father for support.

Read more
9/02/13, 7:55 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Maryland

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8782 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now