Maryland | Medical Leave
Legal Question
Denied family medical leave
My employer is in Ca but and has approx 300 employees at head quarters--because I work in the field as a service engineer they are saying they are denying on the basis of not having 50 service engineers w/in 75 miles of me -but it appears the law states 50 employees w/in 75 miles of the employer or am I wrong
quartera
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Lawrence Holzman |
Re: Denied family medical leave check out the language of the law at :
http://www.dol.gov/esa/whd/regs/statutes/fmla.htm#SEC_101_DEFINITIONS.
§101-2 defines:
ELIGIBLE EMPLOYEE.-- IN GENERAL.--The term "eligible employee" means ....
EXCLUSIONS.--The term "eligible employee" does not include ..... any employee of an employer who is employed at a worksite at which such employer employs less than 50 employees if the total number of employees employed by that employer within 75 miles of that worksite is less than 50...
SO, the real question is .... the definition of "worksite" .... in principle the idea of the minimium numbers on FMLA is that if an employer is big, it is presumed that it has personnel available or can otherwise figure out how to survive for 12 weeks while any particular employee is out. However, if you're a smaller shop, that can be really hard. the question is how that applies to your particular job ...
under some circumstances it could be argued that an employee who does service calls for example, but takes all assignments from a central location actually "works" from that job site for FMLA purposes... this would be especially true if the employer has lots of other service techs; and even more true if it can and does shift those service techs around among various territories.
on the other hand; if a company hires a lone wolf to be an outpost 2000 miles from the main shop; that person may be hard to replace for 12 weeks and that's what the distance rule is all about.
|
Top Attorneys in MD
Law Offices of G. Joseph Holthaus
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Attorney at Law
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Paula McGill Attorney at Law
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 577
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A.
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Law Office of Adele L. Abrams PC
Beltsville, MD
Questions Answered: 70
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-05-31
Law offices of Raymond Carignan,Chartered
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A.
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 24
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-05
THE ANCHORS LAW FIRM
Gaithersburg, MD
Questions Answered: 22
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-10-05
Alex Simanovsky & Associates, LLC
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-10-18
Hamilton and Hamilton LLP
Washington, DC
Questions Answered: 8
Last Question Aswered on: 2001-08-15
Search Questions and Answers


