Maryland | Medical Leave
Legal Question
Family Medical Leave Act
Are there benefits to compensate an employee while taking care of a biological parent from the state or federal government?
What steps have to be followed to process paperwork if funds are available?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: G. Joseph Holthaus III |
Re: Family Medical Leave Act Your question is poorly worded. I believe you are asking 1. Does the FMLA apply where the care is being provided for a parent? YES. The FMLA of 1993 provides leave to provide care for a serious health condition. This typcially is defined as a condition the renders the person unable to attend usual and customary aspects of his/her own care and includes inability to bath, dress, move, and prepare meals. 2. How does/is leave applied? The FMLA applies to certain private employers as well as to governmental employers. A difference is that with govermental employee, the employer does NOT have the right to dictate that accrued annual or sick leave be used BEFORE unpaid leave is used; this is NOT the case for a private employee. Several weeks (up to 12) can be used whether annual, sick, or unpaid leave. Longer periods may be available. Your individual agency's policy applies to determine further accruals of leave when on unpaid status as well as the cost for continuation of benefits such as health insurance. |
Top Attorneys in MD
Law Offices of G. Joseph Holthaus
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Attorney at Law
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Paula McGill Attorney at Law
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 577
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A.
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Law Office of Adele L. Abrams PC
Beltsville, MD
Questions Answered: 70
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-05-31
Law offices of Raymond Carignan,Chartered
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A.
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 24
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-05
THE ANCHORS LAW FIRM
Gaithersburg, MD
Questions Answered: 22
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-10-05
Alex Simanovsky & Associates, LLC
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-10-18
Hamilton and Hamilton LLP
Washington, DC
Questions Answered: 8
Last Question Aswered on: 2001-08-15
Search Questions and Answers


