Maryland | Medical Leave
Legal Question
Time frame for submitting request for FMLA
Is there a time frame that an employee must abide by to request FMLA? Example: Employee has been out sick for 3 months, then is called to ask when he is coming back and tells his employer that he is now requesting FMLA that will let him stay out for 12 more weeks.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: G. Joseph Holthaus III |
Re: Time frame for submitting request for FMLA The FMLA is designed to allow use of leave (sick or annual) for purposes of caring for the health of someone in your family. The FMLA does not contemplate strict notice guidelines; however, there are provisions that allow your employer to adopt its own policies. Where the employer's policy is not applied uniformly, there may be an action. Moreover, where the employer's policy underminds the intent of FMLA or its literal word, such a policy may not be unheld.
Most employers will congenially address matters under FMLA where a legal basis is set forth in a demand letter. Since FMLA is an intermediate benefit with limited duration, few employees and few employers seek to litigate matters thereunder. An attorney's advocacy through a demand and telephonic communication may bring the remedy you seek.
Obviously, past recovery of past wages and benefits is another matter. Employers are often not willing to provide such benefit. This is particularly crucial where a lapsed insurance benefit can save thousands of dollars in medical bills. An attorney is, without doubt, needed in such a situation.
Contact me if you wish to discuss.
G. Joseph Holthaus III (410) 799-9002 |
Top Attorneys in MD
Law Offices of G. Joseph Holthaus
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Attorney at Law
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Paula McGill Attorney at Law
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 577
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A.
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Law Office of Adele L. Abrams PC
Beltsville, MD
Questions Answered: 70
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-05-31
Law offices of Raymond Carignan,Chartered
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A.
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 24
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-05
THE ANCHORS LAW FIRM
Gaithersburg, MD
Questions Answered: 22
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-10-05
Alex Simanovsky & Associates, LLC
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-10-18
Hamilton and Hamilton LLP
Washington, DC
Questions Answered: 8
Last Question Aswered on: 2001-08-15
Search Questions and Answers


