Maryland | Civil Litigation
Legal Question
What is an affidavit judgment and a merit trial for small claim court? We are the plaintiffs. There are two defendants who are minors so the trial is really with a parent of each child. The trial is about an act of vandalism whereby one or both defendants are responsible for taking turns shooting rocks and then shattering the large double pane window above the front door of our home at a replacement cost exceeding $1,000. There are two witnesses with interview statements of the incident by a deputy police officer testifying to the incident. The court system notified us that one defendant will have a proceeding as an affidavit judgment and the other as a merit trial. Both defendants filed an intention to defend.


