Maryland  |  Civil Litigation

question bubble
7/19/07, 3:37 pm

Legal Question


My sister is trying suing for half the proceeds from the sale of my home.

My sister recently went to court and filed a complaint against me stating that we had a verbal agreement which said I would give her have the proceeds from the sale of my home. She and her family had been renting from me for several years. When she heard that I was planning to purchase another home she asked for an emergency hearing and got it . The judge issued a temporary restraining order and injunction preventing me from using any of the proceeds for 7 days. He then continued the order and set a court date. My problem is - Each time I went to the courthouse ,the file seemed to be mysteriously missing and I was not able to see the complaint. I was not able to see the file until the judge had set the court date. I was not given a chance to respond to the complaint, yet the order was issued.My sister had no legal claim to my house. And she is also with holding some personal property of mine in a mini storage and refuses to release it. I have been paying the storage bill to keep them from selling my things. The items were in my house she removed them and placed them in storage because wanted the extra space in the house. What can I do get order rescinded? Also how can I get the court to hear my response to the complaint. Motion?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search