Maryland | Health Care Law
Legal Question
On call physician cash only treatment?
My grandaughter was bitten by a dog, hospital emergency room on call plastic surgeon called in,will only suture her face by cash only terms. No insurance accepted. Is this legal?
Legal Answers
|
Read More Answered By: G. Joseph Holthaus III |
Re: On call physician cash only treatment? With respect to the physician, your question primarily involves two issues. Unless the physician has contractual relations with your insurance company (e.g., HMO, PPO) there is no basis to compell performance through the physician's compensation through insurance. If the child was stablized and not in need of emergency care then the physician does not have to provide treatment. The law does protect the non-treatment of patients who require emergency treatment for life or limb altering events.
Now, beside the physician there is also a duty upon the hospital. Under Emergency Medical Treatment and Active Labor Act, 42 USCS § 1395dd, two duties are imposed on hospital, a screening requirement and a stabilization requirement.
An "emergency medical condition" means a medical condition manifesting itself by acute symptoms of sufficient severity (including severe pain) such that the absence of immediate medical attention could reasonably be expected to result in placing the health of the individual in serious jeopardy, serious impairment to bodily functions, or serious dysfunction of any bodily organ or part. The term "to stabilize" means, with respect to an emergency medical condition, to provide such medical treatment of the condition as may be necessary to assure, within reasonable medical probability, that no material deterioration of the condition is likely to result or occur during from the transfer of the individual from a facility. The term "transfer" means the movement (including the discharge) of an individual outside a hospital's facilities at the direction of any person employed by (or affiliated or associated, directly or indirectly, with) the hospital, but does not include such a movement of an individual who leaves the facility without the permission of any such person.
It is difficult to assess your situation without knowing the severity of the child's injury. Your situation may or may not address the requirements to compell performance of the physician and/or hospital. Frankly, this particular physician does not sound like the type of person that I would want to work on a young girl's face.
I wish you the best of luck with your granddaughter's recovery. |
|
Read More Answered By: G. Joseph Holthaus III |
Re: On call physician cash only treatment? Also, do not overlook the potential case against the dog owner. |
Top Attorneys in MD
Law Offices of G. Joseph Holthaus
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Alan S. Albin, Attorney at Law
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Dunlap, Grubb & Weaver, PLLC
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Simms Showers LLP
Baltimore, MD
Questions Answered: 14
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-11-01
Joseph, Greenwald and Laake PA
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 11
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-14
Alderman, Devorsetz & Hora PLLC
Washington, DC
Questions Answered: 5
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-09-16
Rosenfeld Injury Lawyers
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Healthcare Litigation Support
Chambersburg, PA
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Laurel Anchors, Esquire
Gaithersburg, MD
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Burg Simpson Eldredge Hersh & Jardine, PC
Englewood, CO
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Search Questions and Answers


