Maryland  |  Immigration Law

question bubble
7/01/08, 12:39 pm

Legal Question


DUI/ Naturalization

Good morning and thank you for revewing my question. I've been in US since 1993. Got married in 1998 to a US citizen. Got my GC in 2001. God divorced in 2007. Would like to apply for naturalization. However, was arrested in Sept 26, 2003 for DUI ( BAC 0.08). The situation: There was an accident on the road I was driving on, around the corner. There was a police car stopped right in the middle of the road and the police were investigating some overturned truck in the distance. Well I didnt see the police car (blind corner) so in the last minute tried to stop to avoid running into it, but no... didn't have that muich luck so I hit the police car and broke its r blinker.

I was PBJ'd in March 2004 and did all my duties the court ordered. The judge abaited my probation early.

So my question is, is it 5 years from the arrest date I have to wait to apply for naturalization or from the court date? And since it's been 4 years and 9 months already since the arrest date, will they consider my application? I have no other dui's ever, and finished college. I'm now a nurse... and have been good.

Thank you for your time. :)


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search