Maryland | Immigration Law
Legal Question
Individual has lived in the United States for 16 years, married for 4 years and has a two year old child from the marriage. Individual has a criminal record.
Can the individual be deported back to Africa?
Can the individual become a United States citizen?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Luba Smal |
Yes, he can be removed (deported) if he is in USA illegally (it's not clear from your question: what is his status in USA).
Is his wife a USA citizen or a foreign citizen? What criminal record he has?
No, he can't become a USA citizen. A first step for a foreign citizen would be to become a lawful permanent resident (if eligible to apply). Then, after a number of years, a person is usually eligible for citizenship.
Having a criminal record, he needs to consult an immigration attorney before applying for any immigration benefits.
If you’d like to schedule a telephone or email legal consultation, or need advice or help, please let me know, and I’d be glad to help you: Attorney [@] law-visa-usa.com
Note: The above response is provided for legal information purposes only and should not be considered as legal advice. This response doesn’t create an attorney-client relationship, which can only be established through payment of a fee. If you request a follow-up confidential advice on your specific situation and regarding U.S.A. immigration-related issues, we can offer a paid consultation by telephone or email to clients from all States and globally. Please visit our website http://www.law-visa-usa.com/contact_us.html for more details. Our contact email address is Attorney [@] law-visa-USA.com
|
Top Attorneys in MD
Law Offices of Brian D. Lerner, A Professional Corporation
Long Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 1043
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-29
Law Offices of Michael S. Cho
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 560
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Ajay K. Arora, Attorney-at-Law, P.C.
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 357
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Office of Rebecca White
Seattle,
Questions Answered: 296
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Law Offices of Seeta Nangia
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 255
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-09
Lee Lane Smith LLP
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 223
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-12-06
Law Office of Thomas K. Brown, LLC
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 156
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-05-27
Manchanda Law Offices PLLC
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 137
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-07-15
Meyner and Landis LLP
Newark, NJ
Questions Answered: 102
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-01-09
The Pishevar Law Firm, P.C.
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 100
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-08-07
Search Questions and Answers


