Maryland  |  Immigration Law

question bubble
11/15/09, 10:46 am

Legal Question


i am an unmaried son of usa citizen. my mother aplyied for me 28sept2003 how long i have to wait for my green card?


question bubble
11/20/09, 11:18 am

Legal Answer


The Department of State's Visa Bulletin -- http://www.travel.state.gov/visa/frvi/bulletin/bulletin_4587.html -- will describe the whole thing. If you're a minor you shouldn't have to wait at all, so I'm assuming you're an adult. That would be 1st preference category with "priority dates" around January of 2004. If you're from either Mexico or The Philippines the wait is considerably longer. But have a look at the Visa Bulletin and see which area applies to your situation. Your date may already have been reached.

Thomas Brown

Law Office of Thomas K. Brown, LLC One Research Court Suite 450 Rockville, MD 20850

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/20/09, 12:56 pm

Legal Answer


As unmarried son of a USA citizen who is over 21 years of age, it will take at leat 6 years (for most countries of birth). It will be considerably longer if you were born in Mexico or Philippines.

Sep 2003 is a current priority date for the 1st visa category/Unmarried sons and daughters of US citizen (for those born in countries other than Mexico or Philippines).

If you’d like to schedule a telephone or email legal consultation, or need advice or help, please let me know, and I’d be glad to help you: Attorney [@] law-visa-usa.com

Note: The above response is provided for legal information purposes only and should not be considered as legal advice. This response doesn’t create an attorney-client relationship, which can only be established through payment of a fee. If you request a follow-up confidential advice on your specific situation and regarding U.S.A. immigration-related issues, we can offer a paid consultation by telephone or email to clients from all States and globally. Please visit our website http://www.law-visa-usa.com/contact_us.html for more details. Our contact email address is Attorney [@] law-visa-USA.com

Luba Smal

Smal Immigration Law Office PO Box 540531 Omaha, NE 68154

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/25/09, 3:59 pm

Legal Answer


Was your mother a citizen when she filed her petition for you? If she was a permanent resident when she filed but later became a citizen, then you have the option of seeking Family 2B instead of the 1st Preference. Family 2B may have a better waiting time on the Visa Bulletin than Family 1st. Still, Family 2A may be a shorter time, but this is unavailable to you now (and is a reason why many parents are advised not to naturalize until after their child obtains their immigrant visa).

If you need further help, please let me know.

Note, most out-of-state attorneys can legally help you because we are permitted to practice federal immigration law outside of our state of jurisdiction. Please feel free to contact me for a free initial consultation.

Sincerely,

Michael Harris

Law Offices of Kravitz and Guerra, P.A. 800 Brickell Avenue, Suite 701 Miami, FL 33131

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search