Maryland | Insurance Law
Legal Question
Accident Settlement
My husband was involved in a car accident in which the other person took full responsibility. In MD, the bills have been paid by our insurance company. The injury he had was a ligament in his hand ripped in half and he had surgery to sew the ligament together. He seems to have no permanent injury other than an ugly scar and a lump of scar tissue but can use the hand fine. The insurance company is calling this week to offer us a settlement and to be honest, I don't want to rip them off but also don't want to be taken advantage of because he did go through a lot of pain. I'm wondering in what ballpark figure he should agree to?? We've never been through this before and aren't interested in seeking an attorney to drag it out - he just wants his fare settlement.


