Maryland  |  Insurance Law

question bubble
1/25/02, 1:47 pm

Legal Question


long term disability determination

I have been unable to work for the past six years due

to Fibromyalgia (FM).I was approved for Social

Security Disability on my initial application. My

former employer's long term disability insurer

(premiums were paid by my former employer) paid me

until May, 2001. They determined that I was not

disabled because of my performance on a functional

capacity evaluation (FCE), in spite of the SS approval

and my doctor's statements that I am totally and

permanently disabled. The insurer denied my

administrative appeal. I intend to file suit on the

basis that the FCE is not a valid indicator of one's

ability to work in any field, especially mine

(teaching high school). I need to know how to find if

and when this argument has been used and the result


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search