Re: Payout limits
Due to past abuse, automobile insurance companies have been able to lobby for
legislation that restricts recovery. Anti-double dipping, caps, exclusions, limits, and a host
of other restrictions are now in place.
The automobile insurer is under no contractual obligation to pay beyond its policy limit. In fact, the automobile insurer faces a host of legal claims if they do not seek to pay the bare minimum to resolve each claim. A personal injury attorney
knows of these obligations as well as how to maximize your settlement recovery or litigation judgment/verdict.
This, however, does not stop you from underinsured coverage where you carry more than the limit of the wrongful or negligent driver. This would
be collected against your policy.
Moreover, you could collect from the other driver where assets, present and future earnings, business ownership interests, or other
investments are owned. Maryland has a cap on non-economic damages, last I recall it was about $320,000.
Often there may be coverage available under the provisions or langauge of a policy. Sometimes this language is not overly clear to a lawyman as to what is available. Insurance companies have seasoned adjusters and a staff of lawyers to represent their position, you should consider having an attorney to represent your position.
G. Joseph Holthaus III
(410) 799-9002