Maryland | Insurance Law
Legal Question
Being given the run around
I was in a car accident on Febuary 11, 2002 in which the other driver was 100% fault. I filed my claim with his insurance comany - the Maryland Auto Insurance Fund. First they sent an adjuster to assess my car's damage -- about $7,000. Once the car was taken apart, it was clear that the car was beyond repair and they deemed it ''totalled'' after a month of dragging their feet with the claim. The driver only carried $15,000 of liability and my car's value exceeds that. I filed my claim with my company - Allstate. Their adjuster says it is fixable with reconditioned parts. The body shop states that the vehicle is beyond repair -- and if repaired, is no longer a safe vehicle. I will not drive with my 3 month old infant in an unsafe car and I will sue them before I do so. I believe the cost of the repairs, diminished value, the rental car plus the car storage at the body shop exceeds the value and it should be totalled. It is now six weeks later -- I've gotten nowhere with my claim and I am losing patience. Are they treading on ''bad faith'' territory? Do I need to hire a lawyer to get this whole mess resolved? Are there lawyers who specialize in fighting car insurance companies?
Sincerely,
Frustrated in Maryland


